Scrivener on new Mac hangs (Not responding) when opening a scrivener project

I have used scrivener on two macs using zip files to manually transfer the projects back and forth. I recently replaced one of the machines (a work machine). I transferred my Scrivener project to that new machine. When I open it on the hard drive (not in a sync folder) Scrivener hangs and goes to “Not Responding”. On other attempts to open the project it tries to update the search index and then never opens the project (resulting in Not Responding).

The project continues to work on my personal Mac. I have tried making copies of the project and transferring it to the new mac and I get the same results.

I should say that the project I am trying to open is ~80k words with ~50 sections broken into chapters. I am relatively new to Scrivener so I don’t know if this is considered “big” and I should just let the program sit at not responding for awhile to see if it works through the issue.

Any thoughts?

Are you able to create new projects, open them, and so on with the new Mac?

Are your existing Mac and the new Mac using the same version of Scrivener?

Katherine

Thank you for the response. Yes, both Macs are running Scrivener 3.1.5 and both are on the same version of macOS.

I can open and start new projects on the new Mac.

I allowed Scrivener to sit “not responding” and it eventually opens the project after 5-6 minutes. But when I try to switch between documents in my project is hangs again usually for 5-6 minutes each time.

The project continues to work on my old Mac with no issue besides some lag when switching between documents. It is only on the new Mac. I have also had my IT person delete my Mac user account on the new machine and start with an entirely new user account and the same thing is happening (my old work computer ran Scrivener just fine. The only switch is the new machine is a 16" macbook pro rather than a 13").