Scrivener silently crashes after being open for some time

I rarely shut off my computer, so I tend to just leave it alone and go away to do my own things.

From time to time upon returning I keep finding scrivener to be closed, despite me leaving it open prior. I’ve yet to catch it crashing in person while I work in it, thankfully, so I think it has something to do with idling too long maybe?

Probably not a crash as you say in title. I don’t know about the Windows version, but on the macOS version there is a setting to automatically quit Scrivener after a period of inactivity. See Menu: Preferences, Tab General, and look for “Automatic Quit”. Is there something there like that?

Re you rarely shutting off computer, all computers benefit by a re-boot every so often. I re-boot my Mac’s at least once a week. Windows computers surely would benefit also. Just my two-bits.

1 Like

Oh my, indeed, there was! What a weird setting to have. Thanks!

I think they have this optional settings to help protect projects and the documents. Closing Scrivener saves all files and depending on your backup settings, will save the backup. Writing projects are precious.

Personally, I have this setting turned off and wouldn’t really want to use it.
I don’t see how this can protect a project in any way…

For example, let’s say you have a cat… more even, that cat has his/her opinions on the quality of your writing/story telling abilities… As any loving cat would, laying on your keyboard as you are away buying fancy cat food for this dear friend of yours, he/she all so naturally, giving you a helping paw, proceeds to fix and edit this oh so naïve draft of yours. (You’ll thank him/her later, of course, in the credits, meow.)
Then the software saves your cat’s editing. Which is good, cuz your cat doesn’t have that part figured out yet.

Here is how I handle the save/backup of my projects.