Scrivener to LaTeX - basic questions

Hello all,

I have a couple of basic questions with regards to setting up a Scrivener / LaTeX workflow for academic work.

I’ve been experimenting with variations on the structured outline to give me parts, chapters and sections, and have fiddled with some of the markdown options in Scrivener at the compile stage.

Once compiled, I’ve been opening the LaTeX file in TeXShop, and then typesetting to see the result of my experiments in final PDF form.

I’m now at the stage where I would like to change some of the default format, but I am not quite sure of where to go next. I understand that I can:

• Add / edit some of the metadata directly in Sciverner (via a “metadata” document, or through the compile options), though I have little knowledge of metadata syntax or use.
  • Edit the LaTeX code itself (something I’d like to avoid if possible)
  • Create / Edit things called “XSLT files” for my own requirements.

However, how and where I use each of these options to, say, specify a two column paper, or change labelling of Parts to Chapters etc, has me thoroughly confused.

In addition, I don’t understand where Scrivener is getting its default format for MultiMarkdown -> LaTeX, and whether or not it is possible to edit or load different XSLT files (or if that is in fact the best option).

I’d certainly appreciate some guidance from those in the know on the ‘next steps’.

Many thanks,

Paul