Scriviner File Won't Open

Hi All-

I’ve been using this amazing software for a few years now, but this morning when I opened Scriviner to type my morning’s work, the it said “No File Found.” I went to the folder and clicked on the file for my project, and nothing happened. So I clicked on the backup and nothing happened. No error messages, nothing.

HELP!!

-Brian

PS… The main file says {Conflict} at the end of the file name. I do have a backup but it is very, very old and I’d be crushed to lose so many months of work.

Have you been using Dropbox to keep your project in sync across multiple computers? What can happen when doing so is that you get these “conflicted” files if there is a sync error and you end up with separately updated files from each machine. Other sync services work similarly. To fix this, first make a backup of your current project as it stands by right-clicking the entire project’s .scriv folder and choosing “Send to \ Compressed (zipped) folder”. Then open the project folder and look for all the duplicate files that have the “conflict” at the end of the name and remove the older of the pair to another location–I wouldn’t delete it yet, since it may contain edits that you want to preserve; just move it out of the project into some other temporary holding zone. Rename the files you keep in the project to get rid of the “conflict” and anything else appended to the original file name, so that Scrivener will be able to recognise it. Then once you’ve done that through the full folder of files, try opening it in Scrivener again. Finally, you can open any text files you had to remove from the project, either by importing them into the project or just opening them in another program, and compare them to the copies in the project to see if there is anything you need to copy back.

If you are using Dropbox or such, I also recommend reading through this knowledge base article on best practices to help avoid conflicts in the future.

THANK YOU!