Searching For Most Recent Edited Documents

I’m new to Scrivener, and searching the forum has not yet turned up how to:

1. Searching for the most recently edited documents

2. Sort a project (or at least a folder within a project) by the most recently edited documents

Sorry if the answer’s out there, I haven’t yet found it.

Thanks …

Hi and welcome!

While you can’t search directly for “most recently edited document”, you can get this easily with the answer to your second question. Try this:

1. Type an asterisk (*) in the Project Search on the main toolbar and run the search. This will return all documents in the project
  2. Click the “Search Results” header in the binder to load all the documents in the editor
  3. Switch to View > Outliner (Cmd-3) if necessary to display all the documents in the outliner
  4. Select View > Outliner Columns > Modified Date to add that column to the outliner; you can select the header there and drag it right or left to move its position
  5. Click twice in the “Modified Date” column header to sort descending by date, so the most recently edited documents are at the top (first click sorts ascending, second descending, third toggles off sorting).

To save time after the initial set up, you can save the “all documents” search by clicking the magnifying class in the project search bar and choosing “Save As Collection…” so you can easily load it again from its tab in the binder. (View > Collections > Show/Hide Collections will toggle the tab’s visibility, as will the Collections icon to the right of the binder icon on the main toolbar.)