Section numbering and cross-referencing

Hello, I am pretty new to Scrivener, and very enthusiast!

I am currently trying to figure out how to auto-number sections and refer to them by their number. This must be possible as the manual is full of this kind of referencing, but I am not clear how this is done (I assume, of course, that the manual was written in Scrivener).

Most journals to which I submit articles expect that I have organized my paper roughly in the following way:

Titel of the paper
Introduction
1. Background
2. First argument
    2.1 Intro to the first argument
    2.2 The first argument
    2.3 Possible objections against the first argument
    2.4 Summary of the first argument
3. Second argument
    3.1 Intro to the second argument
    3.2 The second argument
    3.3 Possible objections against the second argument
    3.4 Summary of the second argument
4. Conclusions
References

My first problem is how to get the numbering of the subsections correct. When I instruct the compiler to add the prefix '<$n>. ’ to the title of the first level folders and '<$sn> ’ to the title of second level folders, the sections are numbered fine, but the subsections lack the section number, for example Section 2 looks like this:

2. First argument
    1 Intro to the first argument
    2 The first argument
    3 Possible objections against the first argument
    4 Summary of the first argument

I assume that it is possible to use the n variable without increment (so that I can use '<$nn>.<$sn> ’ as a prefix for the titels of second level folders and <$nn> is replaced by n during compilation, but n is not increased)), but I can’t find the relevant place holder in the list.