Seeking some sensible advice ...

Hi there. This week I bought a new computer and moved from Windows 7 to Windows 10. I did this intentionally to coincide with the start of a new book.

I’m super excited about Scrivener 3 for Windows in the works, and while I’m not technically savvy, I am game!

So … should I take up the sword of Beta 3 to slay the imminent blank page, or slip on my comfy Scrivener 1 slippers and poke it with my pipe?

Any wise words would be gratefully appreciated. :slight_smile:

For planning and writing, I think Scrivener 3’s beta is advanced enough to be safe and functional. For compiling your book for distributing to others though, there are still missing / broken features.

According to the developer, version 3 will be complete by the end of August (knock wood), although what happens if he can’t actually meet that deadline with a reasonably bug-free, feature-complete program?

So, it really depends on how soon you’ll need to compile your work, or if you’ll need to consult the version 3 manual (not yet available) while learning the new or modified features of Scrivener 3.

The interactive tutorial set for v 3 and is pretty good and well developed to learn the differences. Also, since it is 99% the same as the Mac V3, you can use that manual. Also, there are these forums.

I agree with Rdale, that 3 is better. If I were you I’d go with 3. I do all my work in 3 now and can’t imagine going back. Since you are just starting the book, the Aug 31 theoretical completion date will probably come before you are ready to compile your book. Even if it doesn’t make it, does not mean that the compile won’t do what you want. In an absolute worst case scenario, you might need to compile to some format which can then be used to sell / create your book.

I compile to a few formats in 3 and it is fine for my needs.

Thanks to both for your replies. You’ve been very helpful.