Segmentation fault on Kubuntu

I’m new to Scrivener and excited to see a linux beta. I’m a long time kubuntu user and have two machines running different versions.

One is a laptop running 13.04 / KDE 14.10.3, the other is a desktop machine running 12.04 / KDE 4.8.5. I installed Scrivener on both, then completed the QT-Lib patch. In both cases, that got the application to start, but on both machines, I get a segmentation fault (core dump) when I try to open a file. Another thread, in reference to an earlier version, suggested changing the QT_PLUGIN_PATH as a fix. I gave that a whirl, but no dice.

Is there a workaround for this issue that I might have missed in the forum?

~Steve

Bumpity bump bump.
Has anyone else been able to solve this issue?
Initially I was getting a problem with my QT library which I resolved by copying the latest libs into scrivener/lib/ Now Scrivener launches but crashes as soon as I try to open the interactive tutorial in the program. Running from a terminal I initially get the following error when it launches.

Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/conf.d/50-user.conf", line 9: reading configurations from ~/.fonts.conf is deprecated.

Then when I try to open the tutorial or save a project anywhere aside from the default folder(clicking browse when starting a new project) it crashes giving me this.

Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/conf.d/50-user.conf", line 9: reading configurations from ~/.fonts.conf is deprecated.

When saving to a non-default folder it also gives

WARNING: gnome-keyring:: couldn't connect to: /run/user/ME/keyring-KU5Eu9/pkcs11: No such file or directory

The handbook opens just dandy mind you :smiley:

How are you starting scrivener? There’s a shell script in Scrivener/bin that you should be starting it with. Scrivener’s QT libraries are also customized for it, so copying your system ones into it won’t work. (As you found out.)