Single-source reusable text snippets

Apologies if this exists and I haven’t figured it out yet.

I’d like to see reusable text phrases, similar to using the tag in DITA. This would enable you to write a sentence in one place, and then pull it in via reference when compiled. For example, if you want to use the same line to end each document, you insert a reference to the source phrase, so any changes you make in the source automatically propagate to the rest of the places it’s referred to.

This would be pretty useful. Thanks!

Stick with DITA or use AsciiDoctor. I’ve tried using Scrivener for technical writing (I’m a professional technical writer), but it’s simply not designed for it. Once you start needing more advanced stuff like conditional statements, conrefs and includes, variables, single-sourcing and so on word processors, even those as powerful and flexible as Scrivener just fall flat, you’re better off using a tailored made technical writing solution.

It will be possible to pull content from one item into another, in the future. As for using a plain-text system, there is nothing stopping you from doing that in Scrivener, and in fact it can be quite useful as a plain-text document generator, what with replacements and the stuff you can do with the formatting pane and separators. It’s what we who use MultiMarkdown basically do, but there is nothing stopping you from using Scrivener to even put together source code if you wish.

Interesting, I hadn’t thought of using Scrivener as a wrapper to a plain-text format (other than MMD). I imagine the advantage of that is you get all of Scrivener’s organisation tools sitting on top of your project. It wouldn’t really work for me personally, thanks to my reliance on Git and lots of of build scripts but I imagine it would appeal to those who prefer Scrivener to a text editor.