Slllooowwww Scriv

So, I’m a grad student, and I’ve been working on my thesis and an edition of a medieval manuscript. I have no images in the project file, but lots and lots of text files. I am still in the trial software and was going to purchase, but not if I can’t speed things up. I type one word and have to wait before I can continue. I am on some serious deadlines and I don’t have the time to wait for scrivener to catch up with me. I have no idea why its so slow other than I am using the trial version. Is this the issue? If it is I will buy right now! I love this software, I just wish it was working properly. I’ve even gone so far as to create two separate projects hoping that would speed things up. It didn’t. I’m not an idiot on the computer, but I’m not hardcore tech savvy. Ugh. What do I do??

The trial version just has a count-down timer, we don’t restrict any features or intentionally cripple it in any way. What you see is what you get. What I would suggest is downloading the public beta. It has improvements to the text engine that might help you out. Most of them are in loading the file from what I understand; less on typing speed, but I did find on my test systems anyway, that typing speed improved. Working on typing speed in larger projects is the next big priority once this release goes out.

How many words are in the project? You can check that by selecting everything in the Binder (Ctrl-A is fine), and then using the Project/Project Statistics... menu command. The total in the lower section “Selection” is the important one. The top one is just for the manuscript part and thus omits any research files.

Second question: how old is the computer? Does it meet the specifications on the product page sidebar? Netbooks, for instance, can struggle a bit with larger (+150k or so word) projects.