Smart Folders

I realize that this subject has been mentioned in other contexts but I wanted to suggest the addition of smart folders.

I’ve recently turned to blogging, I’m a late developer, and although I’ve used Scrivener for writing projects in the past I decided it would be a good place to draft material for the blog.
The type of material I’m writing and my lack of writing skills require at least one or two edits before posting. So the workflow is that things start in SC and when complete are moved to ecto for posting.

Now because I need to make edits its always good to leave the material for 24 hours before completing it.

So it occurred to me that having a smart folder would cover a number of things that I need:
A list of entries that are still in the early draft stage and need completing.
A list of entries that occurred in a particular timeframe.

In past writing projects, such as writing a white paper, it was less apparent to me that a list of incomplete items would be helpful. This is because there was an end point to the project. However, thinking back on it I believe smart folders would have been helpful even for very bounded projects.

I realize that you could manually change the location of a piece of text when the status changed but I’m of the opinion that we invented computers to do the mundane for us so that we could concentrate on being creative.

Thanks.

You can currently use Saved Searches for this - they are essentially less graceful Smart Folders. 2.0 will replace saved searches with something much cooler.

All the best,
Keith