Smart quotes no longer working

Smart quotes have recently stopped working in a document that I’ve been using for a few months. I have smart quotes activated in my preferences and I can convert the smart quotes in my document manually if I wish.

I created a new Scrivener file and the smart quotes work OK in that so I’m not sure if it’s a document-specific problem or not. I have the latest Scrivener for Mac version (2.4.1).

I just noticed the same thing. I’m using Scrivener version 2.4.1.

A forum user told me this version of Scrivener solved a known-issue with smart-quotes from the last official version. Surprised to see smart quotes not working again.

(My project is an ongoing file, created 11/12, with the previous official release of Scrivener. Smart quotes have worked and not worked seemingly randomly. I will start a new file and they’ll work again, but I’m sure if I continued in the project the quotes would go back to straight after a while.)

This is pretty bizarre but I just closed my file, restarted Scrivener, re-opened the file and now the smart quotes are working!

That said, I’ve had this issue with smart quotes before (with this version of Scrivener and with the same document). Something still seems screwy and I wouldn’t be at all surprised if the problem came back.

The problem can go away for a time (so to speak), but it has been a recurring issue for me. Not sure if anyone else is dealing with it.

I just received this reply from Jeff, a support tech: