Speech Speech Speech!!!

The speech option totally kicks booty!
Ok I’m a newbie so for some of you this may seem a little green but I just discovered the speech option in this application and I think it rocks.
I was totally on my way to sleep and stumbled on this option clicked it and felt like a jolt of caffeine hit my system. I think I let it read half of what I’ve written to me delighted at the sound of my pen coming through the speakers.
WoW!
This is totally awesome! :mrgreen:

Glad you like it! I have to say that I can’t take too much credit for the speech option, though - it’s built into OS X, so adding to an application such as Scrivener is really easy. I was going to say that you should find it in many OS X apps (it’s in TextEdit, for instance), but for some reason Apple don’t seem to have added it to Pages - strange. I’ve made it more useful for version 2.0, though, so that it starts and stops from the cursor point rather than returning to the beginning of the text all the time, which is the standard behaviour.

Thanks and all the best,
Keith

Keith,

Thanks for your quick response! It really means a lot when joining a new community and you are well received. First let me say that the ‘Speech’ component has helped me with my editing. When I listen to what I’ve written and hear some of the typos that hide from my eyes but are instantly detected by my ears. So to included it in your application was a good idea.

My mother was so surprised when I told her I’d organized my novel in a authoring application. But to click a button and let her hear my words spring to life was something totally different.

I’m excited about 2.0 and will be making my purchase very soon.

I’m curious though, I’m sure I’m not using the tool to it’s maximum capacity.
Are there any youtube videos on basic set up and usage?

Hi,