Spinning beach ball with image files

Hi,

I’m a PhD student in Humanities and I have a few graduate school friends who bought Scrivener upon my recommendation. Two of them who come from the domains of Museology and Sociology suggested some modifications for your future versions, and I would here like to speak on behalf of them.

For scholars who work in research domains in which images files (jpg., pdf., etc.) are frequently consulted (for example, Art History, Sociology–for historical references–, Photography, Cinema, Museology, etc.), the spinning beach ball appears when there are more than ten image files (even though their frame size shrunken into 300, for example) in a single note. This seems, to me, as a problem of optimization. For example, it does not happen in other word processors such as MS Word or Mac Pages. My friends have tried to divide into multiple notes to solve this problem. However, it is unsatisfactory since the beachball appears again when the scrivener file size exceeds 1GB (cf. even 1/10 of a doctoral thesis file easily reaches 1GB in these domains). We believe that the Scrivener team may rescue us by enhancing the optimization for image files in their further updates.

We love Scrivener: it helps us tremendously when writing a thesis; however, we have not enough time to play with spinning beachballs when we still have hundreds of pages to write.