Storyist

A Scrivener user just e-mailed me to let me know about a new competitor, and you might want to check it out:

storyist.com

(Yes, I’m not very good at the whole “competitor” thing - I’m quite happy to advertise competing products. :slight_smile: ) What’s interesting to me is that these guys seem to have looked at Scrivener, given that they have a “Manuscript” folder in the browser that works exactly like Scrivener’s “Draft” folder (i.e. that is what gets exported etc). That’s nice - it’s usually me looking at the competitors. :slight_smile: Over all, it’s probably more like Jer’s than Scrivener, but on first glance it certainly looks like a polished piece of software with an attractive interface. Good luck to them.

Best,
Keith

I participated in the beta program for Storyist, and while it’s a nice program in the class of Avenir, it can’t hold a candle to Scrivener’s flexibility. Scrivener is a very good blend of structure and freedom. It doesn’t try to be plug and play, it tries to be something you can mold to your style/needs (and succeeds).

Keith (aside from liking your name :wink:), I very much like and respect your open attitude towards competition. Don’t change…

I looked it over, as I’m always interested in new software (much to my Applications folder’s dismay, I might add) and, while it’s a decent piece of software, I have to agree that it’s far less useful than Scrivener. Plus I don’t think I could ever bring myself to choke down that $60 price tag.