Strange auto-indent in Editor when I paste

I’m a newbie, so this may be a basic question, but it’s making me a little crazy trying to understand. I am copying/pasting text from OneNoet into Scrivener’s Editor, in multiple small text files. Some of the text that I paste is indented - all of the lines separated by carriage returns, while some is flush to the left. If I add additional text, each new line after a carriage return is not automatically indented, like it is if I’ve started a brand-new text file.
This has to be an artifact that is carrying over with the copy/paste.
Anyway, if I position my cursor at the beginnings of the lines, there’s no way I can slide them to the left and I can’t make the auto-indent happen as I type new material. Is there some way to take these cases and reset the formatting somehow to default Scrivener style? If that makes sense?

Thanks,
Mark

I had a similar problem and I found that it was connected to the settings which are at the bottom left corner of the editor. There is a litle box with up and down arrows and a list with General Text and various other template-specific styles. Each one has a different indent setting.

However, I couldn’t always get the text I’d copied to turn into General Text, so in the end I discovered that if I deleted the paragraph breaks until the added text became part of a paragraph which had the correct formatting, and then added breaks back in, the copied text would acquire the formatting. This might be a useful temporary fix until someone who knows more than me comes along, I hope it helps!

Thanks, Dissertating…

It turns out, for my situation, that I’ve pasted entire pages of text into brand-new text files and so, the default style of a new file was completely blown away. There was no leading sentence against which I could back my pasted text and acquire that formatting.