Strategies for Culling/Gathering Materials Into Scrivener

I’m about to get serious about a writing project (non-fiction book). The book’s about a hard-to-explain subject, and it’s my job to explain it real clearly. I want to at least start out with Scrivener, but I’m new to the program.

I’ve got about 12,000 words stored away that are my prior attempts to explain it (via email to friends, notes to myself, etc). They’re all rough and mostly fragmentary…i.e. dealing with just one single aspects of the subject, though I’ve tried to explain certain specific aspects multiple times. None of that stuff’s great…so my impulse is to trash it and start fresh, but there are nuggets that I don’t want to lose.

So I think need to read through that stuff (an unpleasant task, because it’s mostly failed attempts), and somehow highlight the nuggets and make them easily available to me. Should I do this in Scrivener? Or print it all out and circle the nuggets, and just input them into the program? Also, how do I keep those nuggets handy to insert when the time comes? Obviously, I need to “keep my eye on them” while I ramp up the writing, to ensure that the material that comes before builds properly. Any tips on using Scrivener in that way?

thanks

1. Put your e-mails and other notes into one or several RTF files. You may do that with TextEdit or any other word processor.

2. Start a Scrivener project and give it an appropriate name.

3. Drag the RFT files into Scrivener’s Research folder. Create appropriate labels for these items.

4. Go through the items and highlight the nuggets.

5. You may also copy the nuggets by copy/paste into a Nuggets folder.

6. Or you may move the nuggets by select, drag, and drop into a Nuggets folder.

This ability to move/copy text around into different parts of the Binder is the key strength of Scrivener.

If you want to split up the RTF files: place the cursor at a split-point, press Cmd-K, and give the new item a label.