Structuring vs Layout Dilemma

Hi, I’m a newbie to Scrivener and coming from ConTeX (TeX/Latex flavour) and am struggling a bit to structure a book (10 Chapters, frontmatter, etc). Primary target is epub for the time being. This is what ConTeX doesn’t do. I am used to separating layout and structured content. Structuring in Scrivener is my problem. I assume a workflow: write and structure in Scrivener editor and binder, create the “look” at compile time.

Since the frontmatter and each chapter has an epigraph, I went searching for a solution. I found this post: http://literatureandlatte.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=18066&sid=b6d59c445f8af81740b9539d98e8481a to be helpful.

What I am not able to achieve is the required layout without creating some complex structure of folder and file levels which are unrelated to the document structure. Essentially I have split out each style requirement into a separate file or level – which doesn’t seem sensible. If anything, it makes the compile settings rather complex

To give an idea what I am trying to achieve, I have attached a PDF as sample (created with ConTeX). dummy-text.pdf (26.8 KB) There are 3 header styles: Chapter, Chapter subtitle, section title. Plus the epigraph with author. All this repeats in every chapter.

I realize Scrivener does not have paragraph styles in the sense of Word, but do I really need to use “preserve” every epigraph, possibly header, or split each header into a separate file? And if I want to change the formatting go through every piece of text again? That is way too much direct formatting.

Help is needed! How can I achieve my goal without using (too much) direct formatting and using a folder/file structure that reflects that content of the book rather than formatting requirements?

Any help is much appreciated!
Bart