Styles and Latex? (Windows Beta)

Hi all,

I am new to Scrivener and just learning the ropes.

I was trying to produce in .tex file in the Windows Beta, and ran into the following issue: something is escaping my style prefixes.

Specifically: I started by creating a new format with type “MMD (LATEX)”, with a custom Latex document class. In Styles for the custom format, I attempted to add a style for “Heading 1”, Let’s say that in the prefix/suffix fields, I added: \begin{chapter}.

In the generated .tex file, the “” ends up as “\textbackslash{}”. Even when I supposedly escape it by using “\”, nothing really changes.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!
Abhijit

The recent forum thread might be of interest to you in general, and specifically the post I linked to. The same question was being asked here of how to keep MMD from “escaping” punctuation marks that LaTeX uses.

If you’re using the stable version of Scrivener, it uses an old version of MMD, and HTML comments are what you want to use to pass-thru LaTeX code. If you’re using the beta you should use the modern techniques demonstrated in that post, or as shown in this thread, where I describe how I create call-out boxes with Scrivener+MMD+LaTeX.

If you’re going to be using MultiMarkdown to generate LaTeX code, it might be a good idea to read up on it.

Thanks for the detailed explanation!

I tried to follow along with these steps, but still no luck. I did:

(A) Install MMD6 and restarted Scrivener (but I don’t know how to check if it is picked up).
(B) To test, I put this in the first of the prefix/suffix box: \begin{callouttip}{=latex}

However, what shows up in the .tex is still this:

\texttt{\textbackslash{}begin{callouttip}}{=latex}

I suspect this means that I still get MMD5 or whatever is integrated with Beta 12. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Abhijit