[SUGGESTION] True Typewriter mode

As I was pulling some keycaps from my Northgate 101, it occurred to me there’s a better way: just disable those keys. Therefore, I suggest “True Typewriter Mode,” which includes ONLY these “it’s not a bug, it’s a feature:”

• No Backspace; backspace maps to absolutely nothing

• No DEL

• No arrows (use a mouse if you really need to move the cursor)

And, if you really want to be Hardcore about it, * ESC maps to Newline (but that’s not required)

And, if you REALLY want to kill the one mistake a word processor can make that a typewriter cannot:

• Disable Ctl-A*

The idea being to focus on productivity as a writer, and lessen the temptation to simultaneously edit.

I’ve been using Scrivener for over 10 years, and I can’t believe I am just now thinking my problem could be solved with a macro instead of a memory-resident program…or the removal of half a dozen keycaps.

*If you’ve never accidentally hit Ctl-A and kept typing for half an hour before the work got backed up, I won’t be able to convince you this is a feature. Also, the number of us old fuddy-duddies with Control where most kids’ Caps Lock key resides is probably in the single-digits (shoutout to Moses and Plato).

Get yourself a nice programmable mechanical keyboard, and you can remap all of those keys and have the feel of a good typewriter keyboard too :slight_smile:

OK, um…thanks? Question mark?

I have a Northgate OmniKey 101. It has Alps (white) keyswitches that feel like every Underwood and Rheinmetall in my collection. In order to program it, I need a memory-resident program. Both of those facts are in my original post.

I appreciate the simplicity of your response, but let me regale you with commendable respect: the kind of “programmable mechanical keyboard” you mention is in the 300-400 dollar range and uses Cherry keyswitches (not Alps; there’s a massive difference).