Symbols and superscript/subscript improvements

As a science writer, I have to type a LOT of Greek letters, and subscript/superscript for chemical formulas. I would prefer to do it in Scrivener, rather adding them all after exporting to Word. However, I find the current systems in Scrivener bothersome.

For Greek letters in Scrivener, you have to go to Edit->Character Map, manually search for the correct symbol in the list, copy the symbol, and paste it into the text. In Word, you would go to Insert->Symbol, and choosing Greek and Coptic as subset greatly speeds up the searching. Also, the most frequently used symbols panel in Word makes re-using a letter much easier.

For superscript and subscript in Scrivener, you have to use Ctrl+G and up/down arrows. In Word, there are buttons in the ribbon for these, and there are also the keyboard shortcuts Ctrl+Shift++ or Ctrl+Shift±, which I find faster to type (1 key press instead of 2).

Is it possible to improve how symbols are inserted, and make it easier to type in subscript/superscript? These are probably the only things stopping me from purchasing a Scrivener licence!

Scrivener uses the Windows Character Map tool for accessing symbols, so that’s all handled by the OS, but you can pin it to your taskbar for easy access from Scrivener or any other program. I don’t have Windows open at the moment to verify exactly what the options are, but you should be able to extend the symbols dialog to show “Advanced” options or something like that, which I think will let you search or sort a little better.