tagging segments of text, anyone?

i am new to scrivener but it seems to be the best approximation to what i am looking for (with many beautiful extras more than i had expected). I work in a setting where i am writing educational curricula, do qualitative educational research and other tasks. Scrivener helps with both of these.

What i am desperately looking for, and what usually only a wallet and cpu-heavyweight software can do, is to be able to select sections/fragments of text within notes/docs and associate tags with them. Currently within scrivener one can only assign keywords, status and labels to entire notes. But, if you wanted to import research documents (as i did), and want to assign categories to themes that emerge within each doc, and then to later be able to summarize or shortlist to just those segments, WOW, i would pay triple the price for such a software. I would be able to use it for so many things. In my curricular writing, i could categorize segments of text, say, as “develops language capabilities”, and other parts of text as “develops artistic capabilities”. Get the idea? BUT i would also be able to use this in my qualitative research to find important themes in documents. I would even greatly love this feature for my own journal writing. I tend to oscilate between writing in a single journal (all my thoughts, personal, educational, philosophical, etc.). But to see only those thoughts that relate to education, i am totally at a loss. So, alternatively, i end up creating a convoluted scheme of hierarchichal notes which, on the other hand, tends to make me feel very fragmented, and if i want to read through the evolution of my thoughts (chronologically), it becomes impossible.

So, i tend to use complicated qualitative research software to do this (such as TAMS–incredible, free, and robust, but visually unappealing for journal and curricular work).