Technical Writing

Greetings. I recently read the post about the freeze on new features, but I just started using Scrivener and wanted to offer my input anyway.

I love using Scrivener. It is the organization and writing tool I’ve been looking for. I wish I had discovered it when I was writing my Ph.D. thesis, but better late than never.

I’m a theoretical physicist, so all of my professional writing eventually ends up in LaTeX. Since a LaTeX source file is just a text file, I don’t really understand the idea behind MultiMarkDown. I have just been exporting my writing in Scrivener to a text file, then compiling it with LaTeX.

There are three features that would make this even easier than it already is:

1. The ability to export directly to a “.tex” file
  2. Parentheses completion
  3. Color-coded text

The first seems like it would be pretty easy to implement. Right now I have to export to a “.txt” file, then rename it as a “.tex” file before I compile it with LaTeX. Basically, it would be nice to give the export file any name and extension I want.

The second point is probably of minor importance to most writers, but of great importance to programmers and people who use LaTeX for a lot of equations. An option to have the text editor highlight matching parentheses would be quite useful.

The third might not be as easy to implement, but who knows? In LaTeX and most programming languages there are keywords and special commands. Some editors offer a color scheme that will display these in different colors than the main text, which is very handy at times.