The Most Basic and Embarrassing Question

As an absolute newbie to Scrivener and word processing who is trying his hand at writing a novel for the first time I’m just about ready to go back to my typewriter of old. Yes, sorry to say, I am that frustrated. My “most basic” question is this: What, precisely, should I do at the end of a writing session if I choose to turn the computer off? And, what do I do the next morning to get back to where I left off writing?

Since beginning with Scrivener almost a month ago I’ve usually left the computer on at night. So it was never a problem to get directly back into the work in the morning. In the last ten days, however, I have occasionally turned the computer off at night, remembering to back up to dropbox and a flash drive manually. I assume I did this correctly but I am not sure, given my scrambled brain at the moment. However, I know I have backups of some kind in those places. (As well as in Time Machine, I assume, since it is connected to an external drive)

My most basic confusion is with the “Project Templates” window buttons “Open Recent” and "Open an “Existing File.” Because: To me a recent file is also an existing file, and vice versa. What’s the difference? Obviously, both will show half a dozen recent and existing files. So, what do I need to do to simply go back to where I left off writing?

Complicating matters for me even more is that I just lost about two hours of writing for a scene. (I am still no farther than my first chapter, and after some panicky searching of various backup files I did find what was “lost.”) But I have no clue how I lost the scene in the first place --I’ve also had problems emptying the trash, but can’t imagine how the scene would have gotten into the trash. It seems the Trash icon is most often - but not always - grayed out. Why is that?