The Split Vertically shortcut command [solved]

Hello all…

Complete newbie to Scrivener. Working my way through the tutorial. I’m using ActionsApp on my iPad, and am programming some of the shortcuts into it - to make things a bit quicker to use etc.

The “split [editor] vertically” shortcut has me confuzzled - and I must be missing something incredibly obvious.

[Scrivener downloaded/purchased through the App Store (version 2.4.1 (22949)].

“No Split” = Cmd+’
“Split Horizontally” = Opt+Cmd+= [That works fine now - after having disabled the auto-zoom under Accessibility]
“Split Vertically” = Cmd+" I cannot get this one to work

If I opt-click the icon, all good. If I go through the menu, it works as well (obviously) - but simply hitting Cmd+" does nothing. And then it occurred to me that the [ ’ ] and [ " ] are on the same keyboard key… Which has me stuck. Stupidly.

I could go on and on about what I was thinking - and have tried - but figured someone would no doubt be able to provide a very succinct answer to what I am doing wrong - which will no doubt be followed by a huge face-palm my side, before a few words of sheepish “oh I see’s…”

How do you normally switch between ’ and "
Hint: the SHIFT key. :smiley:

So, another way of typing the shortcut would be Cmd-Shft-’ but that is simply another way of writing Cmd-"

Thanks for the reply nom! Fortunately, that’s one of the things that I tried - managed to work that one out myself! :slight_smile: [Just tried it again]. Unfortunately - it does not work. No effect. Nada. Zip. So now what?

Bumpity. Does this shortcut work for everyone else then, I assume? I checked for a system-wide shortcut that I might’ve added before, that could be interfering - but couldn’t find anything. Guess I will have a look again…

Yeah, I don’t think it is a common problem, because I haven’t heard anything about it. Another thing that comes to mind is keyboard language. Are you using a special keyboard?