The "tab" key and imported documents

Hello, everyone!

I am a long time writer who is new to Scrivener. I just downloaded it last week, and I am in love with the program so far. I can’t believe I’ve ever written without it. I’m also incredibly not technically savvy, and so whenever something small like this comes up I have no idea what to do:

So I imported my novel from Microsoft Word to Scrivener. When I write in Word, I hit the “tab” key every time I start a new paragraph. I’ve been told this is a habit I need to kick, but that was after I’d completed my first draft. In any case, every paragraph of my novel is preceded by a tab indent. When I imported my novel to Scrivener, I noticed that sometimes the paragraphs are preceded by an indent and many other times they aren’t. “Well that’s annoying,” I thought. “Oh well. I’ll just throw in the indentations as I’m editing.” So for the past few days I’ve been just hitting “tab” every time I find a paragraph without an indentation. It’s quite a lot of menial work, but I thought whatever I can do that.

So today, out of curiosity, I compiled my document into the standard manuscript format, just to see how the indentations reflected on the finished product. Lo and behold, the paragraphs that are not indented in my Editor are indented in the compilation, and the paragraphs that I hit “tab” on are double indented now. Even worse, many (but not all) of the paragraphs that were indented from my Word import (meaning that ones that I didn’t hit “tab” on in Scrivener but merely retained their indentations from Word) are double indented now, as well.