The Top Things I'd Like To See In Scrivener 3

Okay, I’ve been using Scrivener (and loving it) for several weeks now, getting used to it, discovering what it can do. I initially made a bit of a fool of myself by posting a list like this without truly trying to discover the program first, and thus wound up as coming across as silly; not to mention, the things I was requesting were way outside Scrivener’s area of focus, and would’ve taken hundreds of single-developer man-hours to fully realize. Now, though, it’s a bit of a different story. While I don’t know everything that Scrivener can do yet – I suspect that would take months – I’ve nonetheless come up with a list of things I’d like to see in Scrivener 3, or a future update of 2. I’ve tried to be realistic with regard to Scrivener being the (rather incredible) work of a single individual – i.e., I tried to avoid feature requests that would take oodles on oodles of man-hours to make work. Then again, I’m not a developer, so I’m really just sort of guessing when it comes to the under-the-hood complexity of these things. Anyways, here’s the list. I’ve tried to describe the way I see these things working in my head, though again, I’m not sure how far that goes toward my understanding of their underlying complexity or the specific challenges of implementing them.

1. Wildcards and basic RegEx support. I would love to be able to construct regular expressions and use them in the search-and-replace dialog (along with wildcards), as well as the “Import and Split” dialog, and pretty much anywhere else Scrivener wants me to input a line of text. This would be a HUGE improvement, and one I salivate over the possible uses of. That’s why it’s #1 on the list!