Thesaurus Function

Hi. I am new to Scrivener. I really do like the software but am a little confused about the thesaurus function. I read a “Wish List” post ([url]https://forum.literatureandlatte.com/t/thesaurus-function/28838/5]) that recommends using the “define” option to access the thesaurus in Windows but “define --> thesaurus” doesn’t come up when I right click on a word (and it’s not present in the tools drop down either).

When I right click, all I am given is the option to go online to use google, dictionary.com, thesaurus.com etc. “Define” does not appear under writing tools and, unless I’m missing it, my version does not have an option to add a dictionary or thesaurus icon to the toolbar, as suggested in the “Wish List” thread.

Going online to use the thesaurus isn’t convenient. So any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance :slight_smile:

Make sure you have the most recent version of Scrivener, 1.8.0 - I forget when that feature was added, but I think it was relatively recently.

Bear in mind it doesn’t work for every word - it has to be words that are in the database. For instance words like “to” and “you” and “helped” and “because” don’t seem to be in the database, and so can’t be defined.

For words that can be defined - when you right-click on them you should see Define and Synonyms options at about the middle of the context menu, just above Spelling (not in the Writing Tools Section).

And take any definitions it gives you with a grain of salt - it’s telling me that “was” is “a state in northwestern United States on the Pacific”

Thanks so much! I downloaded the update and now have a thesaurus and dictionary which is an improvement. I do agree that the thesaurus is kind of spotty. It seems that quite a few words aren’t included and those that are aren’t always very well defined (such as secret = info or information with no other synonym listed).