Thoughts about third party tooling?

First, a little background:

I’m a game developer using Scrivener 3 to write/manage the screenplay and most of our textual content in general. Over the past few months I’ve spent some significant time developing a C# package to parse, interpret, and process project and settings files, as well as .rtf documents.

We’re approaching a sort of MVP for our needs, and while I’ll likely be tied up for a while developing other tooling and features, I can already see that we will probably never use any other tool for managing narrative, dialogue, etc. for our projects. Consequently, I’ve also given some thought to polishing it up after we finish our project and possibly releasing it as a tool for other game developers to use as well.

With all that said, my actual question is:

In general, does L&L have any official or unofficial positions or feelings about these sorts of tools being released? My first inclination was to try releasing it on the Unity Asset Store, but I’ve also considered just making it an open-source tool.

Otherwise, I’m curious if there is any subset of the Scrivener community already centered on game development and maybe more generally if there’s any interest in this sort of thing. I also have a whole slew of technical questions (for instance, how often does the project format change?) if anyone knowledgeable about such things felt generous enough to humor me, but as a developer myself I respect that everyone is probably plenty busy enough already :sweat_smile:

Lastly, I just wanted to say out loud just how lovely a piece of software Scrivener 3 is. It has had a huge impact on our workflow and enabled us to do a ton of things we likely never would have been able to otherwise.

1 Like

Thank you for the kind words. We’re glad you’re finding Scrivener useful.