Timeline with Excel

I am writing a Detective/spy thingy. Two plots and a lot of stuff happening. Disappointing that there is no time line tool in Scrivener (not a criticism… just a whinge)
Thankfully my background is in business, so I can use excel. I just thought I would post the time line I am using for the first half of my book as it stands today.
I just use coloured cells.
I do know some others use cork board cards, but I find that they don’t give me a sense of time passing and getting things ordered.

Nice use of Excel to lay out a timeline. :bulb:
I’m an MS-phobe, but guess
I could do the same in Google Sheets.

Just curious: what do the three blocks in each day mean?
Morning, noon, night?

Well done! Excel is a wonderful tool. The combination of extensive analytical and manipulative functionality with what amounts to a database is a winner.

Before software tools specifically designed to assist long-form writing started to proliferate, there were to be found on the Internet all kinds of templates for Excel that could be of use to writers. I seem to remember someone once claiming that they’d written an entire novel with it.

Reminds me of Gantt chart - used in project planning. I have done many of those for various projects but had not thought of using one as a novel timeline!

Have you had a look at Aeon Timeline? Developed by a Scrivener user; integrates with Scrivener — on the Mac, Windows integration actively in development thanks to features included in Scrivener 1.7; allows custom and fantasy calendars …

scribblecode.com/

Disclaimer: I’m not a member of the Lit&Lat team, nor of the Scribblecode team, just a long-term, regular user of Scrivener and a very occasional user of Aeon Timeline.

Mr X

Yes indeed.