Toolbar/Inteface colors

I know I can change the background of the main windows in Scrivener, but can I change the tool bar colors? I know it’s a small thing, but the app looks so Mac-ish and the lack of contrast bothers my eyes.

We’re using graphics for the toolbar, so no they can’t be changed. Interestingly, we modelled most of the UI colours off of programs like Microsoft Office (somewhere in between the Silver and Blue themes in my opinion) not the Mac. We do have it on the list to add support for a “dark” UI theme toggle, so in the future you would be able to choose between dark grey UI components (again probably modelled off of software like Office and such) and the current silver UI components. That will probably be a 2.0 feature though.

Office 2003 is more blue, but I can see what you mean. When I see a non-standard Windows tool bar I immediately think Mac. As a developer, I know this is purely cosmetic and add zero to the function of the app, but I do like to change it when I can. I did change the binder back color, which helps. Being able to change the colors of the toolbar, side-panel header, etc. would be nice.

This is not a “zero” feature. Its all about ergonomics. I can’t concentrate while starring at ugly. My vision blurs with too much light color on the screen after a certain amount of screen time. Personally, I feel that the ability to recolor, darken and even hide chrome elements should come standard on all applications, not just mission critical ones like Scrivener.

Wow, sorry you feel the program is actually ugly. You might consider just turning off the toolbar if it really distracts you to the point of not being productive, and learn to use the other interface components instead. There is nothing you can do with the toolbar that cannot be done elsewhere. On a personal note, I never use the toolbar myself. I always turn it off because I find using keyboard shortcuts and menus to be more efficient.