Total Newb Asking for Advice

Hi there,

I have just purchased Scrivener and finished the tutorial. Looking for advice on the best way to proceed with my project.

I have over 700 daily inspirational messages in one large word document. I wish to divide up these messages into two larger files to self publish books (one of messages from 2012, the other of messages from 2013). I am also wanting to divide up the messages into different topics, to offer compilations of messages pertaining to specific topics such as love, healing, etc. I’m hoping someone who knows the software really well can tell me the most efficient way to use the tools Scrivener offers to make this task easier and manageable. Thanks!

Sounds like you might do best with a relational database, like say FileMaker.

Oh, wow, I never would have thought of a data base. I’ll have to check into that. Thank you!

I just checked out the database you suggested…that feels pretty daunting to me right now. I think I’ll just stay within Scrivener and concentrate on learning one new software rather than two. I really appreciate your suggestion, tho! Any further wisdom that is Scrivener specific?

I’d use Import & Split on the Word file to break each message into a separate document in Scrivener. You can then arrange these in the binder however makes sense to you, e.g. by month within each year (I’m not sure if or how the book is going to be broken down beyond the year, so no particular suggestions for that). Since it seems likely that some messages will work for multiple topics, I’d use keywords to assign the different relevant topics to each item, then use saved search collections to gather all the messages of a particular topic. Search collections can be switched to standard collections and rearranged if you want, and they can be used in compile to export just the topical documents.