Trash syncing

I’m syncing my project to a separate folder on my hard drive and noticed that the trash doesn’t get synced when it comes to deleting. My project’s trash is currently empty but the synced folder contains 84 trashed files, meaning the whole history I believe. Is this really how the sync is supposed to work or can I change the behaviour somewhere that I haven’t noticed?

The “Trashed Files” folder in a sync folder is not the same thing as the trash in your Binder, I can’t think of many situations in which that would be useful. Instead this is a safety net for syncing: