Trust Dropbox Security

Hello and thanks in advance for your help!

I am new to Scrivener and I am just getting ready to start my first book (very excited and very grateful too for this really cool software).

I really want to use the iOS Dropbox sync because it would make the process so much easier than doing the iTunes sync BUT I am concerned with “putting my work out there.”

I had an issue once where I put a password protected Word document out on Dropbox (with my passwords - I know not very smart) and somehow I was hacked. To be fair to Dropbox, I can’t say for sure that it happened at Dropbox but I can’t really say it didn’t either.

I read thru the security docs on the Dropbox website and they even admit that some of their staff have access to my files - There’s no way around it.

I just want to be sure that my work is for my eyes only until I am ready.

Anyway - here’s my question: Does anyone else here have the same concern OR am I being a bit irrational?

Thanks again!

Mike

You are being a bit irrational.

If your stuff is so sensitive that there must be zero risk of anyone else seeing it, you shouldn’t use any internet based communication involving your data. Anything can be hacked, icluding your computer if you have it connected.

What if you turn the question around? Who would want to see your half finished stuff?

I can’t say you’re being irrational without knowing what’s in your files.

I would not recommend Dropbox for sensitive financial or medical information, either yours or someone else’s. (And if it’s someone else’s, there are probably regulations describing where you can and can’t put it.) It’s also not a great idea if you’re a journalist whose beat involves war zones, Chinese dissidents, government whistleblowers, or others who would be harmed if their identity were known.

That’s not because Dropbox isn’t trustworthy, but because that kind of data is very sensitive AND there are people with significant capabilities actively looking for it.