turning deepest children of OPML import into list

Hi all

I’m new to Scrivener but not (M)MD or LaTeX. I’m not sure whether what I want is doable but perhaps I’ve missed something obvious, or someone else has cracked this.

In a nutshell, I want a system where I can put together an OPML document and have a process that automatically converts the last set of children to a list. So it would be something like this

OPML file structure:
I’ve had to write (tab) to show indentation as white-space is being elided in the Preview

This is the first line
(tab) this is a child of first line
(tab) (tab) these are children of child of first line (1)
(tab) (tab) these are children of child of first line (2)
(tab) (tab) these are children of child of first line (3)

Currently, in MMD via Scrivener, this becomes

This is the first line

this is a child of first line

these are children of child of first line (1)

these are children of child of first line (2)

these are children of child of first line (3)

What I would like (because it suits the workflow of drafting in OPML) is

This is the first line

this is a child of first line

• these are children of child of first line (1) <!- auto-detection that there are no children of this set>
  • these are children of child of first line (2)
  • these are children of child of first line (3)

Does this make sense? Does anyone know how I might do this? My workflow is

Outliner (iPad)/Omnioutliner as OPML/Mindnode [drafting]

-> Scrivener [final polishing and development of prose bits]
-> custom export as .tex to BBEdit
-> compile in TeXShop

You could do all of that with the MMD compile system, it’s quite flexible and would even allow for detection between items with sub-documents versus items with no sub-documents.