tutorial problems when installing on OS X 10.5 ...

When I install Scrivener on a machine with OS X 10.5 the tutorial will not work unless I am an admin or the user who, after authenticating, copied Scrivener.app into the system Applications folder. This doesn’t seem to be a problem with OS X 10.4. This makes sense based on the permissions that 10.5 assigns to Scrivener.app but is a problem for other users. I don’t allow my users to log in as an admin. Even on a machine that only I use I have two accounts: an admin account and my account.

When I try to open the tutorial (as a different user) I am told that I don’t have write permission in the install directory (true) and asked if I want to choose another location. The dialog that opens is set to my Documents folder but when that is selected the following error message is presented, “File could not be written. There was a problem writing the file to disk.”

I also have a quibble with the first error message which says that “it may be that you are running Scrivener from a directory to which you do not have write permissions […] it is recommended that you drag Scrivener into your Applications folder and run Scrivener from there.” A non-admin user shouldn’t have write permissions in the Applications folder so this seems a bit muddled.

I see that the tuturial is in Scrivener.app/Resources/Tutorial.scriv. Shouldn’t I need only read permissions to copy this to my home or /tmp. Why is write permission even checked?

The tutorial is a Scrivener project and Scrivener does not support read-only projects at this time, which is why the permissions are required.

If you launch the tutorial and you do not have the correct permissions, it should offer to save the tutorial elsewhere, thus circumnavigating these problems. Is this not happening for you? If not, what version are you using?