Typinator can now run scripts

The technically minded among you may be interested to know that the latest version of Typinator (v.5), which was released today, can now run scripts as part of its expansions of text. Since I am not technically minded, I am not quite sure what the ramifications of this might be, and what problems it might enable people to solve (or create, if they are anything like me). But I just offer the information for those who like to tinker with their computers instead of writing (yes, I’m talking to you at the back – and to myself). According to their information: “AppleScript is only a special case; Typinator can actually run any script that you could invoke from the command line in Terminal. This includes Bash, Perl, PHP, Python, and Ruby.”

Happy procrastinating,
Martin.

This means that you can write scrivener in a typinator script. Not really, more like getting into a delorian and using banana peels to go fix the past.

[size=200]YES.[/size]

I’ve been waiting for this for some time. I probably run dumb little scripts several hundreds of times per day, and I’ve had to code all of those scripts to handle Apple’s pasteboard system to make them useful. It’ll be nice to simplify those scripts to being general purpose and have a typing system handle the pasting all in one easy hands-already-on-homerow solution.

You scare me. I hate to think of what you might be planning.

I kind of liked you better when you were less Ioa.

Nothing less than total world domination.

Nothing to be afraid of.

You couldn’t favour us with a simple, real-world example, could you? I know I should be doing something else (and so should you, probably), but I’m intrigued to know what kind of thing I might be automating were I of a more technical bent.

Cheers, Martin.