typing raw latex in the editor window

Hi folks, I am new to scrivener and am attempting to understand how I can make it a nice part of my work flow.

Since I have used LaTeX for 15 years I would like to be able to use scriveners organizational and planning tools but just type my document in LaTeX code directly. I don’t want the hassle of using the markdown add-on. I would just save the document and compile it at the command line (or using texshop).

How would I configure things so that this would work?

Thanks,
R Haynes

I think the key would be to set it up so you have a very plain layout in your editing windows and then when you compile, set it to compile to plain text. You can split your text up so that each section is a separate document, and as documents can contain other documents, presumably you can simply put sub-sections as children of sections, etc. Type your latex sectioning commands within the documents themselves, then when you compile, set it to ignore document titles.

I guess that would work … it’s at least 15 years since I’ve used LaTeX and often think I ought to get the old cogs in my brain turning again, but there are too many other pre-occupations to allow me the leisure to do that.

Mark

Yes, as Mark says… In Compile Draft make sure that you have it set up to straighten smart quotes, turn ellipses into three periods and em-dashes into double hyphens etc. You may find it helpful to use a plain text font such as Monaco in the main editor, too (you can change the default font and paragraph style via the Preferences). Also in Compile Draft you are likely to want to change it so that documents only have a return or double return between them, and you will want to uncheck the “Page Break Before” option in folders, I suppose (though LaTeX may just ignore such characters, I’m not sure).

You should be able to generate clean plain text even though Scrivener isn’t set up for plain text, but I have never tried it…

All the best,
Keith