Unexpected shutdown followed by disaster.

Hi,
I am new to Scrivener. I’m using the trial version on a netbook running windows 7 starter.
(I have other computers but I like using the little guy because I can write next to the wood stove or down by the creek.)

I moved a 249,000 word document to a binder in the draft folder (After copying from Open Office into notepad). Then selected, copied and pasted each of the 161 scenes/chapters into it’s own folder. I decided I would write the next chapter in Scrivener instead of OO. So I prepared “Chapter 162” folder so it would be ready in the morning. I just sleep the computer over night so I can get right at it.

So I’m ready to write. As soon as I type the first letter the program freezes up.I get a message that it has stopped working unexpectedly, will shut down but windows is collecting information. I usually don’t wait for that but I did. Went to another window and began writing in OO.

When the program closed itself I tried to reopen it and it would not. So I shut down and restarted. The program opened and brought me to the window with the options: buy online, enter registration code or try. When I clicked “try” it would freeze up. I tried this a few times with the same result. The fourth time I clicked “buy online”. The Wifi was off so it just went to the program when the page would not open.

NO DOCUMENTS. THE NAME OF THE PROJECT REMAINED BUT NO DOCUMENTS. SEARCHED MY COMPUTER AND THEY DON’T EXIST!

I Cried.Went back to OO with the little time I had left and wrote some crap cause I knew I would feel even worst if I didn’t get any work done.

Any body know why that happened?

Before this happened I started with the tutorial document inside Scrivener, downloaded all of the tutorial videos including the long one form YouTube. I plan to finish the tutorials, but I wanted to get started using Scrivener. Also got [i] Writing a Novel With Scrivener by Hewson and plan to read that.