Unintentional comedy? (Extra large cursor)

Maybe just a quirk of Scrivener? Not sure. Occurs when you increase paragraph spacing sufficiently. I know I’m a very persnickety writer, but such things distract me! :open_mouth: :blush: I’m afraid it’s going to turn around, decide that it’s King of the walk and eat my text or something.

:mrgreen:

Welcome to the iOS text system. You’ll only see that when you are on the last line of a paragraph with paragraph spacing, though. The problem is this:

• On both iOS and macOS, Apple, for some bizarre reason, has the text cursor match the entire height of the line, not just the text within that line. So, if you have double line spacing, bam, the cursor is twice as tall as the text. If you have paragraph spacing after, then it descends below the text on the last line of the paragraph. You can see this for yourself in TextEdit on the Mac. Just type in a paragraph, change the one spacing to 2x, and place the cursor in the text somewhere. (Or add some paragraph spacing after and place the cursor at the end of that paragraph.)

• In Scrivener for macOS, I have some pretty hardcore code that works around this. Essentially, I intercept cursor drawing, do all sorts of line spacing calculations, and size the cursor myself rather than relying on Apple’s giant cursor.