Unsure how to word this succinctly...hoping for guidance

Hi all,

I’m new to Scrivener and my google-fu has failed me on this. Hoping a more experienced user may have insight for me on my issue.

So, if I add spaces between my natural breaks, such as between dialogue, new paragraphs etc, it is easy on my eyes to comprehend at a glance while writing but when I compile it, the space between things is huge and no good. If I leave no spaces between things while writing, it compiles in a way that seems proper but is difficult for me to comprehend at a glance. Is there any way around this? Such as keeping spaces between things that should have them for legibility while writing and having Scrivener subtract one space from everything during compile? If that even makes sense. Hopefully the screenshots will help to make sense of it.

The first screenshot is what it needs to look like to compile properly but I find difficult to parse while writing.

The second screenshot is how it feels good for it to look while I’m writing, but compiles with far too much space between…erm…elements? that require space between them.

Is there a way to reconcile this?

Scrivener 3 (3.2.3) on Mac OS (Monterey 12.5 if it matters)

(although the interface offered the option of uploading media, it also prevented me from posting after I did so, so sorry for the imgur links ><

https://imgur.com/a/Lnjm3A0

https://imgur.com/a/h3YLbJo

Short answer: You want to adjust paragraph spacing in the editor.

1 Like

This is one of the things the Compile command is for. Set the linespacing to 2x (or 3x, or whatever you want) in the Editor, then use the Compile command to change it to whatever you want for the output document.

(Do not add extra line breaks. They’ll be much more difficult to get rid of.)