Urgently seeking recovery help!

Hi,

I’m having a huge problem with one of my Scrivner projects / files, and am seeking suggestions on how best to fix or recover it.

In short, I was finding and replacing text – replacing periods for something else – within a selected text file. Actually, that’s where the problem started: I realized that I had selected the parent folder for my main draft instead of the selected text file, and that meant Scrivner found and replaced tens of thousands periods for a document that’s hundreds pages long. At first, it took time to process the find & replace, and once it was done I (naturally) clicked Undo.

Unfortunately, however, the undo-ing didn’t fix the problem, and huge parts of my document remain wrecked with indecipherable syntax: missing words, misspelled work, and periods everywhere (those mostly confined to certain text files within my Scrivner project), etc. In short, it’s a total mess.

I’m relatively new to Scrivner, so I’m not sure what the best way is to recover / fix the text. As I said, I first tried selecting the undo command several times, but that didn’t work. I’ve tried to go into the Backups folder under preferences, but have noticed the last back up in nearly a week old (which might just be a function of how Scrivner generates back ups). I’ve even tried to retrieve an earlier version of my Scrivner project. (I saved my Scrivner file within Devonthink Pro, and was able to retrieve an earlier versos of it, but that didn’t work, either.) There might be some kind of corruption that has happened in which, it appear, that such earlier versions of the Scrivner project still revert to the accidental find & replace fiasco version of the text files.

In short: Help! I’m desperately to trying to figure out how I can best revert back to a recent back up or some way to recover the text files before my accidental find & replace fiasco. How can I do this??

Thanks so much!!!