Using index cards as outline?

Hi everyone,
I am brand new at Scrivener. I’ve done the tutorial but still have questions.
I imported my novel scene by scene, making each scene a separate file and grouping the scenes into chapter folders in the binder. I also wrote notes on the notecards in the “synopsis” column on the right side of the screen. What I want to do is see all of those notecards on the corkboard so I can rearrange scenes.
Is that possible? If so, How the heck do you do it?
Many thanks for any light you can shed!

Unfortunately, once you’ve got your cards filed off into separate containers, you can’t see them all on one cork board. My suggestion is to try the outline mode with just titles & synopses showing (you can pick and choose which columns to show or hide). That way, you can expand all your chapters and see every scene. You’ll be able to drag scenes into other chapter folders, create new ones and do anything you might have done on the cork board.

If you really want to have them all on one corkboard, and retain the ability to rearrange them and add new cards, then you’ll have to pull those scenes back out of the chapter folders. Set them alongside the folders rather than inside them, and then you’ll be able to drag scene cards above or below a given chapter. Later, when you’re ready to write them out, or even just prior to compiling, you can move them back into the chapter folders.

If it’s only a question of finding the right place for a scene within three or four chapters, you can select more than one chapter folder in the binder (by keeping the CMD-key pressed) and have them appear as several corkboards, divided by thin lines. Then simply drag and drop “cards” between these different corkboard sections (and you can choose whether they should be vertical or horizontal).