Using item from research in manuscript

Hello!

I’m new to Scrivener. I wanted to be able to use some elements of my research within my actual manuscript. Is it possible to say ‘place’ image from research? I cant seem to find a way! What’s am I missing? I’m referring specifically to the iPad here. I realised when I purchased the software that it’s already very out of date - I hope I didn’t make a mistake in trusting it to do what I need!

Any help greatly appreciated!

Miles

The way I would do it is to copy the image out of the research document (with screen shot, perhaps), then import that new image into the manuscript. Pretty simple to do and is a standard way of using computers like that.

If you have an IMAGE in Research, put <$img:name> (image name) in the manuscript where you want it to show up. If you want to include a text file, use <$include>. But that’s in MacOS or Windows, not sure it works in iOS. If it’s anything else, you probably can’t do it on any of the 3 platforms.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. Yes it’s simple to do, I agree. It doesn’t solve my issue at all though. I may as well reimport the original image - but if the image is already imported it seems silly to need to reimport it, whether its a screenshot or the original image makes no difference.
As for a standard way of using computers, I’ll have to disagree - obviously the standard way off doing such things is drag and drop or copy and paste.

Thanks, I’ll try that.

My bad, I guess. Based on what you said in the OP, it seemed as though the image was inside a document and not an individual image file already stored in Research. What @drmajorbob recommended is better and what I do all the time. I thought about suggesting that to you but as this method of linking to entire image file is in the Scrivener documentation and I figured you already knew that and was seeking other ideas. I’m also not sure it works in iOS. Explore.