Variation to how Subsitutions Works

Just started playing with Scrivener. As a fantasy writer, I rely very heavily on the auto-correct feature, that replaces your chosen letters (ex. tr) with a longer word (ex. The Researcher). I found the “Substitutions” feature, which I’m glad exists.

However, I noticed Scrivener replaces those letters (ex. tr) WHENEVER they are typed, versus if they are stand alone. I would love if Scrivener did replacements like Word. (ex. So tr [space] would become The Researcher, versus in scrivener “sTReet” becomes “sThe Researchereet”).

I don’t know if I am missing a setting, but I would love this alternate Substitutions option.
PS. I use PC.

Thanks.
:smiley:

I would try using the project auto-complete system as well. You can get there from the Project/Auto-Complete List… menu command. The advantages are that it only triggers when you start typing in a word found in the list, and offers it as a suggestion instead of just immediately replacing the text. Further, you can easily append text to the list by selecting it, and choosing “Add Selection to Auto-Complete List” from the right-click menu. Lastly, these are project specific, so the fantasy nouns from one novel won’t get injected into the blog article you’re trying to write. :slight_smile: