Very Large Scrivener Projects?

So, this is all theoretical at this point, but I’m trying to figure out the best way to organize my novels into Scrivener projects, and I’m wondering at what point is performance negatively affected?

I use Scrivener on Windows primarily – beta version, too! – but I also have Macs, and so I do go between the two operating systems on occasion. I also integrate with Aeon Timeline.

At the moment, I’m writing a series of fantasy novels, only one of which is completed. It’s about 70 scenes, 130k words. I imagine most of the novels will be about this length, and there will be (I hope) at least 4. If I put all these in the same Scrivener project, am I going to get freezing and lag?

I should mention that my computers are relatively “good” computers – I’m a software engineer, so I splurged.

Thanks!

As I understand it, the Scrivener project format is a disk-based format, like a database, and as in a database, only the portions of the project that are actively being worked with are held in RAM. So unless you put together massive Scrivenings views that also have massive embedded illustrations, you shouldn’t have the sort of lag that results from heavy use of disk space as virtual memory (which is what you describe.) I have a fantasy series in one project at about 250k words, and have no problem with lag on my older Macbook Air, even with an entire novel displayed in a single Scrivening.

Where you may run into problems is backing up, which will make a copy of the entire project, and can be slow for massive projects. If I forget how I’ve set up automatic backups, I can confuse a long backup with a freeze.