Web Pages

Hi, I am new to Scrivener, and I really love this app. One question. When I use the feature to keep a webpage, I notice that when I click on a link on page it automatically brings me to the web, and not to the part of the page where the info. I require is in Scrivener. This applies a lot to online help manuals which I prefer to have on my Hardrive (saves bandwidth)

I have tried d/l the page and then tryiing to load the local url but no luck…anyone else come across this?

Thanks.

There is already a web trick for doing this, but it requires the developer of the page to be courteous to their readers and supply what are known as “anchors”. You most often see anchors placed at the top of the page, or at each title position. This allows you to link directly to a spot on the target page from anywhere on the Internet using the URL form:

http://www.documentation.org/some_application/index.html#anchorName

It’s the stuff after the hash that makes the magic happen. There is a slightly more advanced trick which will work more often. Any HTML element that has been given an ID can be linked to directly, not just specifically designated anchors. Still, if the author of the page dumped 15 pages of paragraph text without any IDs in the middle, you are out of luck.

There really is no mechanism for doing this other than what I have outlined here, and partially because when used correctly, this mechanism is extremely portable and useful since it is a valid part of the URL. It can be saved in bookmarks, or even as imported into Scrivener.

Thanks for replying Amber, The anchors are there but point to the original webpage on the net, not the section in the Scrivener page, Is it possible to edit the Scrivener page in html? bit slow but!

Am I right in thinking that Scrivener does not support anchors, seems it will not load a webpage from the desktop either, which would be better.