What Scrivener steps do you take in writing your novel?

Hello

I am fairly new to Scrivener and am thrilled with the program. I’d love to accelerate my learning curve so I can minimize backtracking, as Scrivener comes to reveal more of its secrets.

My mind is like quicksilver when I am writing- so many ideas, thoughts, ways of organizing, interesting bits and more arrive somewhat simultaneously. In my imagination, I will learn to use Scrivener like a musical instrument, artfully creating keywords, cards, links, folders and files to contain the first draft of a novel. I like the image of Scrivener musical improvisation novel writing.

I know, ultimately, we each have to find our own way in Scrivener. I’d love to learn the steps some of you take to capture, organize and ultimately refine the first draft of your novels as well as the second and third.

Thank you
Aisling

symbolicbridging.com/
aislingnano.wordpress.com/

I would like to advise strongly against looking at others as a beginning. I consider the best strategy just to start playing around with whatever tool, focusing at a particular project, and to do whatever comes to mind (and trying to solve the problems that arise, like in “how do I…?”). It will not be perfect in the end, but so what? You will have made your experiences, and that will be the solid ground from where to look around how others do it and pick up one idea or another to try it yourself.

The musical-instrument-metaphor is somewhat misleading: While musical instruments should in fact to be handled “right” from the beginning, every writer works different from others - and should do so.

I think in general Andreas is correct. There is no “one size that fits all”, even amongst one’s own projects.

Nonetheless, there are questions that you can ask yourself before you start. For example:

• Structure - how free-form/innovative, how classic (possibly guru-influenced)?