What's in a name?

Prompted by Keith’s post about his name, and his children’s names, over in the Wish List forum…

I have an obscure Viking name. (Well, obscure-ish. For the UK in the 1960s and 1970s, at any rate. It is quite common in Norway.) Now that I am lurching towards middle age, I like my name, but when I was a child it was a different story. Nobody could pronounce it. Nobody could spell it. Until my classmates got their tongues/heads around it, I had to answer to all sorts of vague approximations, some of them quite bizarre. I hated my name because it made me feel as though I was different, and I didn’t want to be different. By the time I was grown up, though, I had grown into it. I liked being different. I liked the fact that if I heard that name, it was someone talking either to me or about me. My name feels like a part of me.

I have heard my name used on television a couple of times recently, and it was weird. What are you playing at, you screenwriter people? That’s my name! You can’t go round using it in your screenplays, willy-nilly, when it’s got nothing to do with me! :imp:

Anyway, back to the point (I do have a point, somewhere)… Maybe all children dislike their names? I have known people with plain names who hated them and wanted something fancy… people with fancy names who yearned for something plain… people whose families call them one thing, while everyone outside the family calls them something else… people known only by jokey nicknames and not by their given names… even someone so unhappy with his (inoffensive) name that he changed it by deed-poll to something that everyone else thought was considerably worse. Although now I come to think of it, I have also known people whose names are so popular that half a dozen of them have shared a classroom/office, but who were perfectly happy with that. Maybe liking or disliking one’s name is a personality thing, distinct from the actual name itself?