What's the most useful fiction-writing tip

you’ve come across?

I’ve been writing novels for 47 years now (as yet to be published), which says something about both my persistence and inadequacy as a writer :laughing: and like many of you I have most of the fiction writing guides on the market. So aside from the old caveats Show Don’t Tell, Use All 5 Senses, Get Inside Your Characters, yadda yadda, what has been the most important lightbulb moment you’ve read/heard about/discovered in terms of your work?

Mine I think has come fairly recently, from Sol Stein (Stein on Writing, How to Grow A Novel), a really first-rate master of the craft:

“The difference between fiction and nonfiction is that the purpose of nonfiction is to convey information, and the purpose of fiction is to evoke the reader’s emotions.” (I’m paraphrasing, but that’s the gist of it.)

I got sidetracked for quite a few years as an academic, so the conveying of information got lodged pretty solidly in my creative mind. And has all along weakened the impact of my fiction. That little tidbit of info has helped me a lot in this latest revision.

Next? :wink:

Every story must at the minimum have its Wyatt Earp, Doc Holliday and Ike Clanton. (Of course, two or even, exceptionally, all three of them can be embodied in the same person.)

Sounds like Vic-K and that bunch of miscreants he`s got squatting in his empty cranial cavity. :open_mouth:

I seem to remember you telling vic-k you were just pushing fifty! :open_mouth:
Fluff

47 years? Wow.

A friend and fellow director told me once, way before he became my friend and I was still learning how to direct: “Just tell your fucking story.That’s really all there is.” I think that was the most useful advice I ever encountered. Oh, and another one, this time by Nike: “Just do it.”

Ahem, considering both, I tend to like short… orders, shall we say? I think anything more complicated might be too complicated for me, I’m more the simple, backcountry boy…